Weekly Writing Challenge: A Few of My Favorite Things

This is the first time I have tackled one of these challenges.  I sat and thought long and hard about where to start. I wrote a list of what I would consider to be my favourite things. After filling 3 pages I decided that it should be narrowed down somewhat.  Oh gosh, where do I start? I know. light bulb goes on in my head, I’ll take a day, yesterday to be more precise and find my favourite things from that period.

Ok, so yesterday was a fairly normal day in our house hold, so I wondered what would be my most favourite things, then I realised, yet another light bulb moment, that I didn’t have to chose what thing was my most favourite just what was pleasing to me.

Waking early and looking out at the still quiet world,I felt that I was the first person to greet this pristine day and a joy filled my being.  This most defiantly was one of my favourite things.

On our walk in the early quiet with my husband and our two dogs, we stood for sometime watching the house martins wheeling and diving in the sky, catching insects.  I sensed a wonder that these tiny, aerobatic birds could master the sky.

So that was two of my favourite things and both before breakfast, wonderful.

After breakfast I filled several plant pots with soil for our land and added our home made compost, the smell of the loam put me squarely back into my childhood watching my Mother doing the same thing. That memory was one of my favourite things. I then proceeded to take a few cuttings from flowering plants and herbs, I stared at these tiny pieces of plant life with awe, they could, if I’m lucky, produce roots to anchor then down and then produce sap to help the cutting to bud up to make it’s leaves.  My sense of wonder was certainly one of my favourite things

I looked at the computer, what a wonderful thing that is.  Perhaps it is my most favourite piece of technology.  With this I can contact the world, amazing the whole world under my finger tips. I speak to my loved ones, do my business and oh so much more. Must add this to my favourite things from yesterday.

The day progressed with tiny miracles at every turn, the eggs I collected from the hens, a smile my husband gave me even whenI had brought the car home with damage to the driver’s side, a kindness given by a stranger and so much more. It is impossible not to say these are a few of my favourite things.

I have decided that most of my favourite things cannot be bought by money, although I do like to purchase the things that make my life happy, easier or just because I want them.

I have decided that my most favourite things are my health, my appreciation of beauty, my ability to love, and not forgetting my capability to laugh.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: A Few of My Favorite Things

  1. You’ve got a nice list there–lots of things to choose from for “favorites”. And, it sounds like you’re pretty lucky that your “normal” days seem to be pretty nice. (Well, except for the car damage part; glad that doesn’t seem to have been too bad.)

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

    • Have to agree with you, but I’ve decided to give them a go just to use what little is left of my brain although those that know me personally feel there isn’t any brain left! I just take a small area of knowledge to work on and fingers crossed I manage to produce something resembling the challenge.

Leave a Reply

